Me as a New Generation “Call Girl”

Hi! My name is Jenny! and I’m calling on behalf of crissyness on wordpress.com.  I’d like to speak to the administrator please?. Sounds familiar? Some of you may have heard something like that and some may have not. Some may have received such a call and some might have worked as an outbound call center agent.  Well, I’m not sure why I’m writing this, but perhaps because I want to give you a little glimpse of the so called “Call Girls”  life.

CALL GIRL : Term used to describe a female specie working on the phone, eg, for telesales, telesurvey, customer service, technical support  and let’s include the small population of Virtual Assistants who receive and make calls 🙂

I wouldn’t say I am a call center whore but I have been bitching around with 4 call centers for more than 3  years now. My first job in the call center industry was as a Market Researcher or a “Telesurveyer” in one of the Market Research giants here in Cebu, Philippines.  Second, as a Customer Service Representative for a big cellphone service provider in the US of America.  Third, as a Customer Support for the biggest and the fastest growing online “store”, when I say customer support, it means, you provide customer service, technical support and Billing support for the customers/clients. And fourth, I’m presently employed in a small call center, as a Market Researcher,this time I’m handling a small team of Market Researchers with 11 agents under my supervision.

I can say that of all the nature of  call center jobs that I worked in, Market Research is the most relax and easy, but not in my current case where I work as a Team Lead for a group of telesurvey agents, because I’m multi tasking, I still make calls and often times function as an IT personnel. Yes, I make calls for surveys having the same quota with my agents,rushing to meet deadlines, and fix my agents technical issues., oh not to mention being the Quality Analyst as well. Now you don’t have to ask me  why I’m having pimples 🙂

Of all the call center jobs I have been to, I love the third one. Super multitasking, let’s say “Contact Maniacs”, why? Contact maniac because we use all sorts of  web and phone based communication – from Phone, email and chat support, all simultaneously, every working nights. The challenge doesn’t end there, because we provide General Customer Support – We handle the billing, technical and plain customer service, that’s a definite information overload during training until you are already deployed on the floor. Training – speaking of which, during the training we were thrown with 2 inches thick modules and been bombarded with daily, weekly and monthly assessments. When we passed the training and been endorsed on the floor, there were no more monthly assessments but a performance matrix we need to hit and maintain. I’m not  exaggerating.

Now who says call center “she” agents are brainless glamour girls?

One thought on “Me as a New Generation “Call Girl”

Leave a Reply

